Français Sitemap | Contact Us |
Browse Information





Contact Us
F2/4 Vasant Vihar,
New Delhi-110 057
Tel : +91 11 26140641/42
Fax : +91 11 26140630
Starting in 1990 and amid protests, Compaoré opened the way for the liberalization of the regime.The government drew up a new constitution for multiparty elections. The constitution was approved in a referendum in 1991.

On 30th March 2001 the government organised the national day of forgiveness and reconciliation. On this day all political crimes were forgiven and the families of the victims were given monetary compensation. All previous Heads of State, religious and traditional leaders came together with the present leaders and thus the whole nation was united.

The ruling alliance also dominated the 1991 legislative election, with the ODP-MT party winning 78 out of 107 seats in parliament and the fragmented opposition winning only 23. In 1996, ODP-MT absorbed several smaller parties (including some opposition parties) and formed the new Congress for Democracy and Progress (CDP). With state office, large resources, and some opposition parties on their side, the CDP dominated the legislative election of 1997, winning 101 of 111 seats. Compaoré was re-elected in 1998.

In 1991, the constitution formally separated the state from the ruling party by creating separate executive, judiciary, and legislative branches; basing the government on a multiparty system; and ensuring freedom of the press. A civilian president would be inaugurated for a 5-year term. Although the president was only eligible to be re-elected once in the original constitution, this was changed to allow a president to be re-elected indefinitely. However, following public protest, this amendment was changed back in 2000 so that any president may now only be re-elected once. In 2000, the Supreme Court was split into 3 High Courts, which oversee the judicial system, administration, and the audit of public finances.

Presently there are more than 70 political parties in Burkina Faso.

The president selects the prime minister, subject to parliamentary approval. A parliament of 111 seats sits for 5 years. The constitution also allows for a 174 seat representative chamber.

Although salaried workers only account for a small percentage of the population, they exert a significant political effect due to unionization and their location near legislative centers. Students, who can also be a political influence, staged a 3-month strike in 1997 over political killings.

Burkina Faso is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and UEMOA. The UEMOA headquarters are based in Burkina Faso.


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

» Video
Copyright © 2009 All Right Reserved.. Home | About US | Embassy | Visa | Press releases | Links | Magazine